It

I hope,

I pray,

I continue to get ready every day,

nothing.

 

I dream of your touch in some way,

every time you brush past,

I start to hope.

 

You touch my foot and I shudder,

I await more but nothing arrives.

 

We sleep,

side by side,

but all you do

is turn the other way.

 

I prepare myself every day

just in case,

but you don’t even notice.

 

I hope and pray,

I spend more time on how I dress.

 

I apply more to my face,

I go casual,

I go plain,

nothing.

 

We go out,

others take their chance,

but still nothing.

 

We talk and change the circumstance,

nothing.

 

I change slowly,

I ask for a back rub

no,

nothing.

 

I hope and I pray,

I get ready every day,

but still nothing.

 

I ask if everything is okay,

it’s not.

 

I change,

we try,

still,

nothing.

 

Depression seems to be in the way,

I try to move her,

nothing.

 

Surely everything will be okay,

nothing.

 

I hope,

I pray,

I continue to get ready every day,

nothing.

Leave a Reply

